The Official Website of the City Government of Pagadian

Sunday, June 16,2024 ,10:20: AM

Facts & Figures



Pagadian City Hall, 2010

The city is governed by the City Mayor. The local Sangguniang Panglungsod (City Legislative Council) is presided by the City Vice Mayor with ten elected councilors, and two ex-officio members from the Sangguniang Kabataan (Youth Council) and Association of Barangay Captains (ABC) respectively, as members of the council. The city mayor, vice mayor, and councilors are popularly elected to serve a three-year term.

Pagadian is also the seat of the Provincial Government of Zamboanga del Sur.

Elected officials for the 2019–2022 term are:

Members of the Pagadian City Council (2019–2022)
RepresentativeDivina Grace C. Yu PDP–Laban
MayorSamuel S. Co Liberal
Vice MayorAtty. Baldomero “Boy Baleleng” Fernandez PDP–Laban
CouncilorsSam Tyra F. Co Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan)
Kai-kai Asugas PDP–Laban
Marjorie Revelo PDP–Laban
Allen Ariosa PDDS
Jesus B. Bajamunde Jr. UNA
Dra. Dicky Fernandez Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan)
Troy B. Asugas NPC
Jigger Ariosa PDP–Laban
Dr. Ariel Lim PDDS
Aiko Yu To UNA




The Pagadian Tricycle


Pagadian Airport Terminal facade.

Tricycles are the primary public transport in the urban center while jeepneys usually ply the city’s rural barangays. Private vehicles comprises the largest percentage of the traffic. Buses, minibuses, and jeepneys are the modes of transportation for transients bound for the neighboring municipalities and other parts of Zamboanga del Sur. These short-travel transports also serve the bus terminal which is located downtown.

Airport. The city is served by a Principal Airport Class 1 (or major domestic). It is located in Barangay Muricay, approximately five kilometers from the city proper.The airport serves as the only air portal in the Province of Zamboanga del Sur with direct flights to and from Manila and Cebu.

Seaport. The port of Pagadian City is served by shipping lines operating for both passenger and cargo vessels. Ports of call include Zamboanga City, Jolo and Siasi in Sulu, Bongao and Sitangkai in Tawi-tawi, and Cotabato City.

Integrated Bus Terminal. Served by two major bus companies and several other smaller Public Utility Vehicles(PUVs), i.e. vans, the terminal sits atop the hill as the station for both Eastbound and Westbound transport, particularly for public transports bound for Zamboanga City, Ozamiz City, Dipolog, Cagayan de Oro, Cotabato City, General Santos, and Davao City.


Telecommunications Philippine Long Distance Telephone Company (PLDT) and Cruztelco are the two major telecommunications providers. A project under the Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC), the Pagadian City Telephone Exchange (PACITELEX) serves the far-flung barangays that other telephone companies are not yet able to give service. Major cellular phone Service provider in the country serve the city.

Water and power supply Pagadian City Water District (PCWD or PAWAD) provides the city with potable water supply. Formed in 1976, PCWD has over 14,000 active service connections and sources its water from deep wells and springs.

Electricity is supplied by the Zamboanga del Sur I Electric Cooperative, Incorporated (ZAMSURECO I) from the National Power Corporation Hydro-Electric Plant in Iligan City, sourced from the Maria Cristina Falls. About 77.70% or 42 out of 54 total barangays in the entire city have 24-hour supply of electricity.